How to disable permanently deleting confirmation in Outlook?
By default, when we delete an email message permanently with pressing the Shift + Delete keys simultaneously, it will pop up a permanently delete confirmation shown as following screen shot. Some Outlook users may think it annoyed and want to disable the warning dialog box. In this article, I will introduce the ways about how to disable the permanently deleting confirmation in Outlook easily.
Office Tab: Enable Tabbed Editing and Browsing in Office, Just Like Chrome, Firefox, IE 8/9/10.
Classic Menu: Bring Old Menus and Toolbars Back to Office 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016 and 2019.
If you are using Microsoft Outlook 2010 and 2013, you can follow this way to disable the permanently deleting confirmation quickly.
Step 1: Click the File > Options.
Step 2: In Outlook Options dialog box, click the Advanced in the left bar, go to the Other section, and uncheck the option of Prompt for confirmation before permanently deleting items. See screen shot below:
Step 3: Click the OK button to close this dialog box.
From now on, the permanently deleting confirmation dialog box won’t come out when you permanently delete any item from Microsoft Outlook 2010 and 2013.
In Outlook 2007, you can disable the permanently deleting confirmation with following steps:
Step 1: Click the Tools > Options.
Step 2: In the Options dialog box, click the Advanced Options button on the Other tab.
Step 3: In the coming Advanced Options dialog box, uncheck the option of Warn before permanently deleting items.
Step 4: Click both OK buttons to close two dialog boxes.
Recommended Productivity Tools
- Complicated and repeated operations can be done a one-time processing in seconds.
- Forward multiple emails individually with one-click, and auto forward by rules.
- Auto CC/BCC every sending email and easy for customizing rules, and auto reply without requiring exchange server.
- Powerful junk emails filter, remove duplicate emails, reply with attachment, bunch of one-click operations, and so on...
- 60-day unlimited free trial. 60-day money back guarantee. 2 years free upgrade and support. Buy once, use forever.
You are guest ( Sign Up? )
or post as a guest, but your post won't be published automatically.
To post as a guest, your comment is unpublished.· 1 months agodon't have those options. Not an answer that works.
To post as a guest, your comment is unpublished.· 1 years agoThank you. I've always wanted to eliminate the permanently delete an item confirmation, but never knew how to change it. Great tip.
To post as a guest, your comment is unpublished.· 1 years agoCan you please tell me how to turn this off. I've found several topics on how to turn off dialog boxes when deleting items in folders but not the folder itself. For example when I want to delete a folder I get a message like "Move "folderxxxx" to your Deleted Items folder. Once I move it and delete it I get asked again. Can you please tell me how to turns these off!
To post as a guest, your comment is unpublished.· 4 years agoSuppressing the confirmation prompt works fine for Shift-Delete, but in Outlook 2013 there is a Permanently Delete command that can be set as a Quick Step, and - so far as I can see - the confirmation prompt suppression check box has no effect on it.
Clicking the Quick Step "Permanently Delete" still comes up with a confirmation prompt, while no such prompt comes when using Shift-Delete.
Any suggestions as to how to get rid of the prompt altogether?