Tip: Other languages are Google-Translated. You can visit the English version of this link.
Log in
x
or
x
x
Register
x

or

How to disable/turn off social connector in Outlook?

Since Microsoft Outlook 2010, users can connect to their social networks and view all updates easily in Outlook. However, some may think the update information is annoying and takes up too much space in the whole screen. In this article, I will introduce ways to hide social networks and disable/turn off the social connector in Microsoft Outlook 2010 and 2013.

Hide updates of social networks in Microsoft Outlook 2010 and 2013

Disable or turn off social connector in Microsoft Outlook 2010 and 2013

Kutools for Outlook: 100+ New Advanced Tools for Outlook.
Office Tab: Enable Tabbed Editing and Browsing in Office, Just Like Chrome, Firefox, IE 8/9/10.
Classic Menu: Bring Old Menus and Toolbars Back to Office 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016 and 2019.

arrow blue right bubbleHide updates of social networks in Microsoft Outlook 2010 and 2013

If you just think the update information of your social networks occupies too much space and make it hard to preview your emails, you can hide the whole People Pane, including the update information of social networks.

Just click the People Pane > Off on the View tab, it will hide the whole People Pane at the bottom of Reading Pane in Mail view.


arrow blue right bubbleDisable or turn off social connector in Microsoft Outlook 2010 and 2013

Even you have hidden the whole People Pane in Microsoft Outlook, your social networks keep updates all the time. If you want to disable all social networks completely in Microsoft Outlook, you should do as following:

Step 1: Click the File > Options.

Step 2: In the Outlook Options dialog box, click the Add-Ins in the left bar, and click the Go button at the bottom. See screen shot:

Note: Please keep the COM Add-ins displaying in the Manage box.

Step 3: Now the COM Add-Ins dialog box comes out. Uncheck the add-in of Outlook Social Connector 2013 (or Microsoft Outlook Social Connector) in the Add-Ins available box, and then click the OK button.

Step 4: Click the OK button to close the Outlook Options dialog box.

Going back to the mail interface of Outlook, you will see the People Pane button has disappeared on the View Tab in Ribbon, as well as the whole people pane disappeared at the bottom of Reading Pane.


arrow blue right bubbleRelated Article

How to connect to social network (SharePoint) in Outlook?

 

Recommended Productivity Tools

shot kutools outlook kutools tab 1180x121
shot kutools outlook kutools plus tab 1180x121

Kutools for Outlook - More than 100 Advanced Functions for Outlook, Improve 70% Efficiency For you

  • Complicated and repeated operations can be done a one-time processing in seconds.
  • Forward multiple emails individually with one-click, and auto forward by rules.
  • Auto CC/BCC every sending email and easy for customizing rules, and auto reply without requiring exchange server.
  • Powerful junk emails filter, remove duplicate emails, reply with attachment, bunch of one-click operations, and so on...
  • 60-day unlimited free trial. 60-day money back guarantee. 2 years free upgrade and support. Buy once, use forever.
Say something here...
symbols left.
You are guest ( Sign Up? )
or post as a guest, but your post won't be published automatically.
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.
  • To post as a guest, your comment is unpublished.
    Ron · 2 years ago
    I think Microsoft Windows Office 2010 is violating privacy by adding my business contacts out of Outlook to my private Facebook account without a warning.
    • To post as a guest, your comment is unpublished.
      Pat S · 1 years ago
      I highlighted the Outlook Social Connector 2013 line and clicked Remove. The people option at the bottom of the window did not go away and still gives me access to my contacts.
  • To post as a guest, your comment is unpublished.
    Fred · 3 years ago
    We still want to use the people pane, but disable the social connector because using social media is not allowed in the company network. Is that possible?