Skip to main content

How to rename the profile in Outlook?

Author: Kelly Last Modified: 2014-06-26

Have you needed to change your profile name for Microsoft Outlook? Some Outlook users may find it hard to rename their profiles. Actually we can master renaming profiles with a tricky method: copying the profile and giving it a new name, and then deleting the original profile. In this article, I will show you the method in Microsoft Outlook step by step.

Office Tab - Enable Tabbed Editing and Browsing in Microsoft Office, Making Work a Breeze
Unlock Kutools for Outlook's free version now and enjoy over 70 features with unlimited access forever
Boost your Outlook 2021 - 2010 or Outlook 365 with these advanced features. Enjoy 70+ powerful features and elevate your email experience!

To rename your profile name for Microsoft Outlook, please do as following:

Step 1: Access the Control Panel:

  1. In Windows 7, please click the Start button at the bottom-left corner of Taskbar > Control Pane.
  2. In Windows 8, Swipe in from the very right edge of the screen, click the Settings button, and then click the Control Panel. See screen shot:

   

Step 2: Now you get into the Control Panel: 

  1. Firstly change the view mode by clicking the text besides the View by, and select the Small icons or Large icons from the drop down list;
  2. Then click the Mail icon. See screen shot:

Step 3: In the coming Mail Setup dialog box, please click the Show Profiles button.

Step 4: Now you get into the Mail dialog box, and click to highlight the profile name you will rename, and then click the Copy button.

 

Step 5: In the popping up Copy Profile dialog box, enter a new name in the New Profile Name box, and click the OK button.

Step 6: This step is optional. Now you get back to the Mail dialog box, check the option of Always use this profile, and then click the box below it and select the new profile name from the drop down list. See screen shot:

Step 7: Then click to highlight the original profile name, and then click the Remove button.

Step 8: Then a warning dialog box comes out. And please click the OK button in it.

Step 9: Click the OK button in the Mail dialog box, and exit the Control Pane.

So far, you have renamed your profile name for Microsoft Outlook already.


Best Office Productivity Tools

Breaking News: Kutools for Outlook Launches Free Version!

Experience the all-new Kutools for Outlook FREE version with 70+ incredible features, yours to use FOREVER! Click to download now!

🤖 Kutools AI : Instant pro emails with AI magic--one-click to genius replies, perfect tone, multilingual mastery. Transform emailing effortlessly! ...

📧 Email Automation: Auto Reply (Available for POP and IMAP)  /  Schedule Send Emails  /  Auto CC/BCC by Rules When Sending Email  /  Auto Forward (Advanced Rules)   /  Auto Add Greeting   /  Automatically Split Multi-Recipient Emails into Individual Messages ...

📨 Email Management: Recall Emails  /  Block Scam Emails by Subjects and Others  /  Delete Duplicate Emails  /  Advanced Search  /  Consolidate Folders ...

📁 Attachments ProBatch Save  /  Batch Detach  /  Batch Compress  /  Auto Save   /  Auto Detach  /  Auto Compress ...

🌟 Interface Magic: 😊More Pretty and Cool Emojis   /  Remind you when important emails come  /  Minimize Outlook Instead of Closing ...

👍 One-click Wonders: Reply All with Incoming Attachments  /   Anti-Phishing Emails  /  🕘Show Sender's Time Zone ...

👩🏼‍🤝‍👩🏻 Contacts & Calendar: Batch Add Contacts From Selected Emails  /  Split a Contact Group to Individual Groups  /  Remove Birthday Reminders ...

Instantly unlock Kutools for Outlook with a single click—permanently free. Don't wait, download now and boost your efficiency!

kutools for outlook features1 kutools for outlook features2
 

 

 

Comments (2)
No ratings yet. Be the first to rate!
This comment was minimized by the moderator on the site
Dieses Verfahren benennt nicht wirklich den aktuellen Profilnamen um. Es erstellt ein neues und kopiert lediglich den Mailkonto-Namen. Das bedeutet, es werden NICHT die vorhandenen lokalen Daten weiter verwendet, sondern alle Daten neu vom Server geholt. Alles was nur ausschliesslich lokal im alten Profil enthalten war, geht dabei VERLOREN!
This comment was minimized by the moderator on the site
Any emails you have left on the server get downloaded again. I wonder if there's a way around that.
There are no comments posted here yet
Leave your comments
Posting as Guest
×
Rate this post:
0   Characters
Suggested Locations